Algonquin Round Table Begins

The Algonquin Round Table begins meeting in June of 1919. This group of New York City writers originally started as a joke, with members of the “Vicious Circle,” as they called themselves, meeting for lunch daily at the Algonquin Hotel from 1919 until about 1929. The group, who were creatively inspired by their meetings, became known for their sparkling wit and wordplay. Because several members of the group wrote newspaper columns, these witticisms were spread across the country.

Members of the original group included columnist Franklin Pierce Adams, critic and journalist Alexander Woollcott, publicist John Peter Toohey, humorist and actor Robert Benchley, author and playwright Robert E. Sherwood, The New Yorker editor Harold Ross, columnist and sportswriter Heywood Broun, writer Dorothy Parker, playwright and director George S. Kaufman, playwright Marc Connelly, and freelance writer Ruth Hale.

To learn more, go here:

Algonquin Round Table

This entry was posted in Literary Friendships & Feuds and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.